---
title: "Deleting a Customer"
canonical: "https://kb.myframeworks.com.au/space/PROSTIXV48DOC/31124587/Deleting%20a%20Customer"
format: markdown
---
A customer can be deleted providing they have a nil balance and there are no active transactions in the system for them. This option removes the customer from the system but any invoices they may have will still be retained for historical enquiries.  Goal:   In this lesson you will learn how to delete a Customer Master File record.  Steps:     1. From the  'Main Menu'  select options -  'Accounts Receivable' - 'Customer Maintenance' . 2. Select a customer using any of the  search  methods. 3. From the options box choose  'Delete' . Providing the customer has a nil balance and there are no active transactions in the system for them, the customer will be deleted.  4. The following message will appear on the bottom of the screen.: . . . Procedure complete. Press space bar to continue . . .   However, if the customer DOES have an account balance and/or active transactions, the system will display this message:  . . . This function not allowed - Balance not zero . . .   5. An alternate way to close a customer account if there is still a balance is to do a  Bad Debt Write Off . The customer balance must be an amount owing, so if the account is credit, do a journal to remove the credit, leaving a one cent balance so the account can be turned into a Bad Debt Account.  RE-INSTATING A DELETED CUSTOMER ACCOUNT If a customer has been automatically or manually deleted from ProStix and you want to re-instate that account, simply create a New Customer, override the suggested customer number with the customer's old account number and proceed to create a 'new' account which'll retrieve all the customer's previous information.    Review:   You can now:  · Delete a customer.