---
title: "Maintaining User Groups (GUI)"
canonical: "https://kb.myframeworks.com.au/space/PROSTIXV48DOC/31111720/Maintaining%20User%20Groups%20(GUI)"
format: markdown
---
User Groups are defined to allow Users with the same access requirements to be grouped together by assigning their User ID to User Group(s). To define User Groups in ProStix, perform the following: 1. From the  ProStix Main Menu  select ‘ System Administration ’, then ‘ Security ’, then ‘ Define User Groups ’. 2. Define the User Group by selecting the appropriate field values:                       i.        Enter a unique ‘ Group ’ name.                      ii.        Enter a ‘ Description ’ for the ‘ Group ’.                     iii.        Type ‘ yes ’ in the ‘ Use Spooler ’ field. Note : Set the ‘Use Spooler’ field to ‘ No ’ if there are Users who you do not want to access the spooler file for previously run reports. All documents produce printed output from ProStix (with the exception of Point Of Sale dockets), which is stored in the Print Spooler until it is purged by a scheduled task. The “Use Spooler” set to yes option allows the recall of previously printed documents so they can be printed, viewed or emailed/faxed again.                     iv.        Type ‘ no ’ in the ‘ Stop Password Expiry ’ field. Note:  The exception to this might be for System Administrators who you may not wish for their passwords to expire, in which case you would type ‘Yes’. Note : Company level default password expiry is managed by selecting ‘System Administration’ then ‘Configuration’, then ‘System Control Files’, then ‘Site Details’. Tab to the ‘Password Expiry’ field, then enter the number of required days before all users are required to change their password. 3. To change a user group, perform the following: i. Select the existing user group, then press <F7> (Change). ii. Make the required changes to the relevant fields, then select <F1> to save. iii. Once you have completed all changes, modify any users who have been classified into that group, and update the group's program access through the 'Program Security' program. 4. To delete a user group, perform the following: i. Select the required group, then select <F5>.  Select <F5> to confirm the deletion. 5. You now need to define which ProStix programs are going to be accessible within each User Group.  Refer to  Defining Program Security to User Group/s (GUI) .