---
title: "Create/Maintain Users"
canonical: "https://kb.myframeworks.com.au/space/PROSTIXV48DOC/31097575/Create%2FMaintain%20Users"
format: markdown
---
To create and maintain users on the system and set their security and authorisation levels perform the following. 1. From the  ProStix Main Menu  select  'System   Administration'  then  'Security'  then  'Define Users' . 2.  To add a new user ,  refer to  Adding a new User . 3.  To modify an existing user ,  refer to  Modify a User . 4.  To delete an existing user ,  refer to  Deleting a User   . Adding a new User   To add a new user, perform the following:   1. From the ‘ User Security Options ’ window, select ‘ Define Users ’.  2. Type a unique user ID for a new user, then press <Enter>.  3. Select either ' Create New User ' or ' Copy Existing User ' from the 'User does not exist' screen. i. If you select the ' Create New User ' option you are then presented with the  'Add New User  -' screen.  Refer to the  'Add New User'  collapsible link below for a screenshot and an explanation of these options:   ii. The next screen displays a list of flags and default values that need to be customised to suit the user.  Refer to the 'Flags and Default Values' collapsible link below for an explanation of these options:     iii. If you answered  'No'  to the POS Supervisor field in the previous screen, the following POS Security screen appears. This screen allows you to override the user non-supervisory status for selective fields.  Refer to the 'POS Security' collapsible link below for an explanation of these options:     iv. If you select the  'Copy Existing User'  option, a screen of existing users is displayed, then,  after selecting a user, type the new User Name, Password and Salesrep number into the relevant fields. The copied user's information and the entered User Name, password and Salesrep number are used to populate the new user fields in the normal  'Modify User'  display. The E-Address field is left blank.   Refer to step 3 above for field descriptions. Note : The User Name and Password fields are mandatory.   4. Once completed, the user's permissions are displayed. Modify a User To modify an existing user, perform the following: 1. From the ‘ User Security Options ’ window, select ‘ Define Users ’. 2.  Type the user ID for the user whose details are to be changed or <F3> to search. 3.  The ' Modify User - <name> ' screen allows you to add/modify any user or security details. Refer to the ' Add New User  and ' Flags and Default Values ' collapsible links above for an explanation of these options. Delete a User To delete an existing user, perform the following:   1. From the ‘ User Security Options ’ window, select ‘ Define Users ’.   2. Type the user ID for the user whose details are to be changed or <F3> to search.   3.  From  the ' Modify User ' screen, select <F5> (Delete). The prompt  'Press F5 to Confirm Delete'  is displayed in the function bar. Make sure you have selected the correct user, then select <F5> to confirm. Note : If a salesperson has been attached to the user, you will be prompted to delete this salesperson from the system. 4. If this is not the user that you intended to delete, select <F4> (Exit) to cancel the deletion. 5. If you selected <F5> to confirm the delete, the selected user is no longer able to log onto the system.