---
title: "Closing a Work Order"
canonical: "https://kb.myframeworks.com.au/space/CO/30523312/Closing%20a%20Work%20Order"
format: markdown
---
Overview When a work order is completed, the next step is to close it. By completing the work order all the products, materials and labour are collected and transferred to the respective sales order for subsequent invoicing to the customer. How to Close a Work Order To close a work order, complete the following: Click  , select  Close Order  to open the  Close a Work Order  window and close out the work order. If there are any outstanding lines not marked as completed, the warning shown above will be displayed. Complete   all lines to close the order. For service work orders, if the logged time is below the minimum required, the user is presented with the following warning: The minimum labour hours have not been reached, please add a call out charge to the sales order. You can either close the order, or add the minimum hours. Click   to close the work order. The work order  Status  changes to  COMPLETED  and no more changes can be made. All lines are now added to the respective workshop, project or service order ready for release. The following occurs within the respective sales order when the work order is closed: Service Order on Close : Products are transposed individually onto sales order. Quantities of the same product are consolidated. Time Entries are consolidated and transposed as a single line on the sales order. Expenses are transposed individually onto the sales order with the expense description shown in transaction line comment. Workshop Order on Close : Products are transposed individually onto the sales order. Quantities of the same product are consolidated. Time Entries are consolidated and transposed as a single line on the sales order. Expenses are transposed individually onto the sales order with the expense description shown in transaction line comment. Project Order on Close: Products not yet claimed are consolidated (cost and sell) and add a single line onto the sales transaction. Time Entries not yet claimed are consolidated (cost and sell) and added as a single line onto the sales transaction. Expenses not yet claimed are consolidated (cost and sell) and added as a single line onto the sales transaction. Releasing the Sales Order Once the order is ready to be invoiced, complete the following: Click  , select  Release  from the actions menu to open the  Pick & Release  screen and the  Release Order  window. Fill in the necessary information and enable    Print Delivery Docket  to print a delivery docket. Click   to release the order. For workshop orders, if upon release the order value is below the defined minimum order value, the user is presented with the following warning: Workshop Order is below the minimum order value $50 Inc Tax - please add extra charge to order as required. You can either release the order or add new lines to reach the minimum value. Additional Information Refer to  Maintaining a Work Order  for more information. System Settings - Amounts Setting Purpose SrvOrdMinLbrHrs Service Order Minimum Labour Hours WrkOrdMinVal WorkShop Order Minimum Order Value Refer to the  Work Orders - Setup and Configuration  for more information on defining the minimum hours